#We are the women of Stem – Take 2

Women in STEM, they’re amazing, and they’re all around us. So here is a continuation of our #WearethewomenofSTEM

If you’ve missed our first installment, check here: HERE

Now without further ado, here are are wonderful women:

Noor Akl, Engineering, University of Sydney

I picked engineering after watching a YouTube video of a baby being able to hear for the first time all because of a cochlear implant. I wanted to pick a career that would be beneficial to not only myself but to many other people. So I chose my degree based of that YouTube video. In my degree there’s actually a good ratio of women to men. However there are issues where some of the guys you’re working with don’t think you’re as capable as them and that’s where the constant need to prove yourself comes into play. I don’t think women should be phased joining a male dominated field. It may be challenging but having females can offer much more in terms of perspectives/thought process then just men only. Engineering is about new ideas so it only makes sense to have both men and women in engo degrees.

Zahra Makki, Biomedical Engineering, University of Sydney

I stumbled upon biomedical engineering completely by accident. I was at the hospital and happen to walk past a room that had ‘biomedical technologies’ written on the door. Being the curious person that I am, googled all sorts of biomedical technologies, one link led to another and eventually came across biomedical engineering and I loved everything about it. The work load is pretty intense, and as the saying goes, nothing comes easy. With my degree I hope to work with prosthetics. I think the work of prosthesis is amazing, it can literally change somebody’s world for the better. It’s incredibly important for women to be in STEM degrees because there are many opportunities available. Becoming role models as well as paving the way for other women is essential in breaking barriers for women who feel they are not good enough to go into a certain fields as they feel it is male dominated. Women are just as capable of innovation, discovery and even curing diseases, they just need to be given the right

Shivani Patel, Medical Science Student, University of New South Wales

I remember when I attended my first high school science class when I thought, this is something I want to do. My science teacher conducted an excellent introduction to high school science and did a few experiments which made most of our class watch in awe, and I was no exception to that. I noticed that I enjoyed the process and logic behind subjects which represent STEM in high school, like physics, maths and information technology, which made my decision a difficult one when it came to choosing what I would like to do in university. STEM is such a broad field and I feel that there are many areas where women are underrepresented, such as engineering and technology. I always felt that science was the field which intrigued me, with different theories and the mechanisms of how our body works when we are feeling well compared to when we are sick. Women in STEM to me is very important, especially because this is a field which gives birth to innovative ideas as well as breakthroughs in our world which revolves around technology.

Ly Lien, Engineering, University of New South Wales

I’ve always had a passion to help others, to lead and to inspire. My dream goal is to create a shift in balance and to prove that I can achieve anything I want to do regardless of who I am or what I am. Having been an all-rounder in my academic and extracurricular endeavors, I found it really hard to decide on what I wanted to study once I step into university. I then attended a Women in Engineering conference and the result from that was I felt prompted to make a change, I realized that engineering is in every part of our daily lives and so it was something I would love to explore. I was further inspired by Dr Jordan Nguyen, a Biomedical Engineer from UTS who was working on a wheel chair that is controlled by brainwaves and eye movements. As soon as I heard his presentation at UTS, I immediately envisioned myself working in that field, where I can use my engineering skills and create better medical equipment’s and reinvent our daily lives as we know it. Currently in the second year of my study, I have not faced many challenges other than the usual assessment and assignments which all university students have to go through. It is however a little intimidating when attending a class in which male to female ratio is quite low, (i.e. one class of mine has 3 girls and 15 guys) however, this doesn’t really affect much but the numbers. I would like to think that women are much more involved in engineering and that number is growing, however the number is not growing very fast. Women are capable of almost anything and many get scared or shy away when an opportunity opens, but we should all grab that opportunity as we have the potential, we have the power to invert the so called inequalities, once we accept that we just need to work hard for anything we want then we can achieve it.

If you know any wonderful women that you know, or if you are a wonderful women yourself, please do get in touch on our Facebook or Twitter, using the #WearethewomeninSTEM.

 

One thought on “#We are the women of Stem – Take 2

Leave a Reply

